danaxisland.blogg.se

50mm summicron v4
50mm summicron v4





  1. #50mm summicron v4 how to#
  2. #50mm summicron v4 tv#

Don’t get me wrong it’s an amazing lens with very few imperfections but the 35 Summicron ASPH is a better lens, and has definitely improved on the 35 Summicron Pre-ASPH. So what makes me use this lens for portraits? I think its the imperfections that makes the 35 Summicron Version 4 produce such pleasing portraits. I think the fact that it’s less contrasty helps here. The 35 Summicron Version 4 produces very smooth images that aren’t as contrasty as the newer ASPH version. ↑ Here’s a photo that came straight out of Camera Raw with no photoshop done. But I shoot more portraits with my Version 4 than my ASPH version, which leads me me ask the question: is there something about the older 35mm that makes me always come back to it for portraits? I think it performs better, and I personally like the bokeh better.

50mm summicron v4

I really like it better than my Version 4. I have two copies of the 35 Summicron ASPH, and ASPH version is actually my preferred 35mm. I kept running into portraits I took, and I was surprised that a lot of them came from my 35 Summicron Version 4. The idea for this post actually came to me a couple of hours ago when I was busy organizing my hard drives, which are completely filled with photos and a complete mess :). Portrait Shots With The Leica 35 Summicron “Bokeh King”: ↑ Up close and personal: What a Leica M9 and 35 Summicron were made for. It really brings you in close to your subject (which is a huge reason to use a Leica), and people don’t get intimidated by my Leica M9 (check out my M9 review here) and 35 Summicron combo. Lastly, my biggest reason for using a 35mm for portrait? I actually like using a 35mm, particularly a 35 Summicron because it’s so small and non-threatening. Us Leica people are use to fix focal lengths, and we make due :). My 35 Summicron is attached to my camera a lot…sometimes a moment comes along, and you just don’t want to ruin it by changing your lens.

50mm summicron v4

Other times: you just don’t want to kill the moment. Well, sometimes you’re in a tight area, and you can’t fit everything in the frame. With so many nice portrait lenses produced by Leica, such as the 75 Summilux (which I reviewed here) or my favorite, the 50 Summilux ASPH, why bother using a 35 Summicron? It’s not exactly flattering to use a wide angle. This post is just a sneak peak at what this lens can do). (By the way, I will be doing an extensive review of the 35 Summicron Version 4 at a later date. There are several other reasons for why Leica owners prefer the 35mm as their main focal length but this post is not about that it’s about using the 35 Summicron (Version 4, IV or 7-element) or as some refer to as the “Bokeh King” to take portraits. A 35mm can also focus closer to get that “up close and personal” feel.

50mm summicron v4

#50mm summicron v4 how to#

Because it is a wide angle, it’s also easier to learn how to pre focus. There are several reasons for this: a 35mm is wide enough to fit everything in the frame but isn’t completely effected with the negative effects associated with wider angles.

50mm summicron v4

So that’s that, a few lost shots from my Christmas break, it was lovely getting them back from the D&P today a little reminder of a lovely day out with the family.The 35mm focal length is probably the most popular focal length for Leica M’s.

#50mm summicron v4 tv#

King John – as this evening’s TV has coincidentally reminded me – is entombed there.Įven closer to my house is the Commandery Museum, A musuem that is facinating in its layers of history, but to me, is also quite photogenic. This is despite the fact that it is actually a fairly major landmark. Firstly, Worcester Cathedral makes up part of the view from the top floor of my house, it’s probably only half a mile away, yet I rarely venture inside. I was quite happy to find it was shot over the course of a little family day me Hannah and Connie went on to some very local attractions. And so the film stayed, at least until this morning when I decided I was happy to sacrifice the final 7 frames to see what on earth I had pointed it at. The purchase of an Leica M3 and a few other distractions has meant I just haven’t picked up the M7, at least outside of making comparisons with it and the M3. In the case of this film, it got left in the Leica M7. I shot quite a few rolls over Christmas, but a few got left in cameras halfway through.







50mm summicron v4